Me, Myself, and I

Who am I?

‘To be, or not to be: that is the question’ -Hamlet/William Shakespeare

First and foremost, my name is Ashley Stesha Manning.  I am the most awkward person when writing an introduction about myself. And yes, I intentionally included my middle name because my first and last are not very exciting. Stesha is a Russian word for queen’s crown and can also be a female form of Stephen, which happens to be my dad’s name. There is absolutely no Russian blood flowing through my veins, so why did my parents give me a Russian name? It is not stemmed from creativity, but solely picked from a book of names my mom owned. My parents are engineers, a black and white personality type. I will never truly understand why they did not choose the name Stephanie and save a trip to the bookstore. Needless to say, my middle name helps define my awkwardness and social identity crisis.

Second, I am a twenty-nine year old who recently re-enrolled at Texas State University, majoring in advertising with a minor in art history. I have not attended college in six years. I can not deny drastic changes the moment I stepped onto campus. It has become intense and more fast pace, like an extreme sport. I do not know what type of new strategic methods I must use to keep up with these college expectations. Overtime, I am sure I will get back into the groove with confidence, ease, and poise. I credit any type of positivity to my always peppy mom. Thomas the Train is perfectly stored in the back of my mind waiting with his encouraging words, “I think I can, I think I can, I think I can…”

Third and most importantly, I am here to discuss my blog’s theme. ‘The Arts & The Creative Souls,’ is self-explanatory by the title alone, but here are a few more tidbits about what to expect. I love everything about the arts: its history, famous artists, its attributes to society, what inspires me, how it inspires me, why it inspires me, etc. My blogging will not be in any specific order. Whatever, I am dying to talk about is what I will write about. Like art, there are no rules in this matter.

To whom this may concern, I welcome all audiences! I hope this blog brings joy to anyone who is willing to take the time and scroll through. My goal is to bring the creative souls out of everyone who seeks it. To enjoy art and aspire from it.

Leave a Reply

