Glass Work: Pain, Sweat, & Beauty

“I never met a color I didn’t like.” – Dale Chihuly

Glass artists are magnificent individuals. I have worked with my fair share of art mediums, but glass is not one of them. I have worked with clay and built sculptures using bendable wires, as far as glass goes, I have no clue where to even begin. I find it quite intimidating, yet mesmerizing. Learning how to work with glass will be placed under my bucket-list for now, until then, I will continue my journey exploring famous glass artists and getting to know their individual stories and personal craftmanship. Without further a do, I welcome you one of my favorite glass artists, Dale Chihuly.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

DALE CHIHULY: The Godfather of Glass Blowing

Chihuly is one of the most prominent American glass blowers of today, but I would have to say and most would agree that he is the greatest glass blower in the world and of all time. He revolutionized this style you often see many others trying to achieve today. No one can blow glass the way this man can. He is his own breed. The detailing of his work is extraordinary and jaw-dropping. When you look at the pieces, you are often left puzzled, how can someone be capable of creating this kind of work? It is as if it is impossible to construct, wondering if magic or superpowers somehow exists in this world.

As you can tell from the pictures above, Chihuly, is a man of many rare talents. Starting with this world life-size chandeliers hanging from the ceiling, putting everyone to the edge of their seats. He also orchestrates his glass blowing talents to create gigantic sculptures using a similar technique of his chandeliers, but to which they deserve their own praise. Some of Chihuly’s works of art are displayed in slide show above. Taking a look at it, you will notice the tree sculpture is glowing of golden-yellow with a dash of orange and a hint of green. It stands in the perfect spot, mirroring itself against the building’s glass wall. You will also come across his talent in painting, applying it with his sculpted bowls, which are put into the above slides.

I hope to one day look at his creations not from a computer screen, but view it as the real thing. If you are just as captivated by Dale Chihuly as I am and would like to get to know him better, his website  is one click away, a site not worth passing up.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

